Illinois DUI Penalties

Below outlines what you need to know about Illinois DUI consequences and penalties — which can get complicated. The right Illinois DUI attorney understands the system and can potentially get your DUI case dropped or your penalties reduced. Be proactive: don’t drop the ball on your rights and driving privileges. Call us today or fill out the contact form on the right for a confidential case consultation.

First-Time Offenders

If you’re a first time offender, expect the following potential penalties for your Illinois DUI:

  • Six-month automatic license suspension
  • Misdemeanor charge and possible conviction with consequences ranging from potential imprisonment of up to one year to revocation of your registration and driving privileges for at least a year and fines totaling up to $2,500
  • Increased consequences for circumstances such as BAC of 0.16 or more (mandatory minimum fines/community service and driving while transporting minor children (potential felony charge; mandatory fines) or if there is an accident involved with bodily injury

Second, Third, Fourth…

In Illinois, penalties increase depending on the number of offenses you have on your record. If you are arrested for a second DUI, be prepared to see the DUI penalties rise, including:

  • Class A misdemeanor charge
  • Five days mandatory jail time or 240 hours community service
  • Revocation of vehicle registration
  • Longer license revocations

Third time’s a charm? No way. The third DUI conviction is considered a felony no matter how minor the intoxication and a fourth conviction can lead to lifetime license suspension.

Social Costs

In addition to the hassle and legal ramifications of a DUI, you may rack up other costs such as impoundment and court fees, dramatically increased insurance rates, and a good dose of societal stigma. Some employers will refuse to employ those who have a DUI, and you could face limitations when it comes to voting, finding another job, volunteering, or engaging in other everyday activities.